HomeFeatured ArticlesGermany v Argentina Preview | FIFA World Cup 2014: The Final

Germany v Argentina Preview | FIFA World Cup 2014: The Final

After four weeks of what has been one of the best World Cups in years, the final is upon us. In what will be a repeat of the 1986 and 1990 finals, Germany will take on Argentina for the chance to be crowned world champions in the Maracana.

After the humiliation of their 7-1 defeat to Germany in the semi-final, the Brazilians now face the prospect of their greatest rivals Argentina winning the World Cup in their country, and so they will surely be supporting their European counterparts on Sunday. Speaking of the Germans – William Hill are offering excellent enhanced odds for new customers of 4/1 for .


Germany were ruthless in their destruction of Brazil and have deservedly cemented their place as the favourites to win the tournament. However, Argentina have yet to concede a goal in the knockout stages of the World Cup and Lionel Messi can finally lift himself to the same level of adulation as Diego Maradona should he lead his country to victory over the Germans.

It promises to be a great game and will hopefully live up to the billing.

Team News

Germany have no current injury problems and Joachim Loew should have a fully fit squad to choose from.

Angel Di Maria missed Argentina’s semi-final win over the Netherlands due to an injury he picked up in the quarter final. However, he should be fit in time to play in the final but it is likely he will only appear as a substitute. Argentina have no other injury worries.

Interesting Statistics

  • Both sides have played each other in two World Cup finals before; 1986 and 1990. Argentina won the former and Germany the latter.
  • They have played each other 15 times in total with Argentina holding the edge over Germany with nine wins.
  • Germany defeated Argentina 4-0 at the last World Cup.
  • Germany have scored 17 goals in the tournament so far and have now scored the most World Cup goals ever with 223.
  • Should Germany win, it will be the first time a European side has won the World Cup in South America.
  • Argentina have not conceded any goals in the knockout stages and only three in the entire competition.

Key Players

Germany – Thomas Muller

Thomas Muller has undoubtedly been one of the tournament’s best players and is an integral part of Germany’s team. He has scored five goals in six appearances so far and is only one goal behind the tournament’s leading scorer, James Rodriguez. According to Squawka.com he has also created 15 chances for his team mates and has a 57% shot accuracy. He is also averaging a 75% accuracy and has won 51% of his duels. Argentina’s defence, Javier Mascherano in particular, did a very good job of containing Arjen Robben and Robin van Persie in the semi-final and will have to do the same with Muller if they are to stop him scoring any goals.

Argentina – Lionel Messi

Messi was quiet for most of the game against the Netherlands but looked good when he moved out to the right side of the pitch. The captain can lift himself to Maradona’s level by winning the World Cup but will find it difficult against Germany’s defence. He has scored four goals at the tournament so far but none since the group stage. According to Squawka.com he has been accurate with just 50% of his shots on goal but has created 21 chances for his team mates. He has won 62% of his duels and has been successful with 82% of his passes. If Messi goes up against Howedes on the right hand side, then Germany may find themselves having to commit more defenders to him in order to cut the threat he provides.


I expect it to be a really good game of football but not on the scale of Germany’s 7-1 victory of Brazil. Argentina’s defence have proved more than capable of dealing with any attack thrown at them. However, they will have to find a way of overcoming Germany’s relentless pressing in midfield. I see Germany having the bigger advantage in this respect and are dangerous going forward. Therefore, I think that Germany will win the game 3-1 and win the World Cup for a fourth time.

More News